About the Partnership

The U.S. Highway 14 Partnership was formed in 1998 to expand U.S. Highway 14 to four lanes between New Ulm and Rochester.

The Partnership consists of cities, counties, townships, chambers of commerce, businesses and individuals impacted by U.S. Highway 14. We lobby at the state and federal levels to secure funding for the project and ensure public input into the process of expanding Highway 14.

Highway 14 impacts the safety, economy and quality of life in Southern Minnesota. It is the most populous 100 miles in Greater Minnesota lacking a four-lane highway.

Guiding Principles
The U.S. Highway 14 Partnership lobbies for the entire Highway 14 project, all the way from New Ulm to Rochester. Member areas that have already seen their part of highway expanded remain in the Partnership because they are committed to completion of the entire project and understand the impact it has on the entire region.

The Partnership is a non-partisan organization and works to engage all legislators along Highway 14 in finding a way to complete the project.

The Project
The entire Highway 14 project spans approximately 100 miles between New Ulm and Rochester. The state has thus far expanded 75.5 miles of Highway 14 to four lanes; only 24.5 miles of two-lane highway remain. The estimated cost of expanding the remaining miles is $300 million.

New Ulm to Nicollet — 12 miles of two-lane highway remain. Estimated cost of expansion:
$15 million for right of way acquisition
$9-17 million for engineering
$45-85 million for construction
Total: $69-$117 million

Owatonna to Dodge Center — 12.5 miles of two-lane highway remain. Estimated cost of expansion:
$25-28 million for right of way acquisition
$12-15 million for engineering
$115-150 million for construction
Total: $152-$193 million

2017 Board of Directors

President:
Karen Foreman
City Councilor
City of Mankato
kforeman@mankatomn.gov
Vice President:
Kevin Raney
City Councilor
City of Owatonna
kevin.raney@ci.owatonna.mn.us
Secretary/Treasurer:
Pat Hentges
City Manager
City of Mankato
phentges@city.mankato.mn.us
Past President:
Robert Beussman
Mayor
City of New Ulm
robert.beussman@ci.new-ulm.mn.us
Patrick Baker
Director of Government
and Institutional Affairs
Greater Mankato Growth
pbaker@greatermankato.com
Jim Bier
Commissioner
Olmsted County
bier.jim@co.olmsted.mn.us
Ardell Brede
Mayor
City of Rochester
abrede@rochestermn.gov
Mark Dehen
Mayor
City of North Mankato
markdehen@northmankato.com
Fred Froehlich
Mayor
City of Nicollet
swanlakefroehlichs@gmail.com
Tom Kuntz
Mayor
City of Owatonna
thomas.kuntz@ci.owatonna.mn.us
Audra Shaneman
President/CEO
New Ulm Area Chamber of Commerce
audra@newulm.com
Brad Meier
President
Owatonna Chamber of Commerce
bmeier@owatonna.org